Skip to content

Forward Prize Shortlisting for Best Single Poem

One of the highlights of Staple 72: The Music Issue has now been judged by Ruth Padel, Hugo Williams, Alex Clark, Dreadlockalien and Fiona Shaw – the panel behind the shortlists for the Forward Poetry Prizes 2011 - to be among the highlights of the year. Chris Jones’s ‘Sentences’ is a powerful short sequence drawing on his work in prisons, combining clear-eyed perspectives on the problems that bring men to the landings, and make it hard for them to completely escape, with an extraordinary formal elegance and control. If you’d like to read ’Sentences’ before the Forward anthology appears on National Poetry Day (October 6th) – then you can order a copy of issue 72 direct from the Staple online shop.

The full shortlist for the Forward Prize Best Single Poem award is as follows:

Julia Copus: An Easy Passage

Chris Jones: Sentences

Lydia Fulleylove: Night Drive

Ian Pindar: Mrs Beltinska in the Bath

Lee Sands: The Reach.

Kate Bingham: On Highgate Hill


About Chris Jones 

Chris Jones has lived in Sheffield since 1990. He was awarded an Eric Gregory Award for his poetry in 1996. From 1997 to 1999 he worked as a writer-in-residence at Nottingham Prison. He was the Literature Officer for Leicestershire for five years and then spent some time as a freelance writer and poetry festival organiser. He currently teaches creative writing at Sheffield Hallam University. In 2007 he published his first full-length collection, The Safe House, with Shoestring Press.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *